Scroll to content
Pippins Pre-School home page

Pippins Pre School


Early Years Foundation Stage Framework


What is the Early Years Foundation Statutory Framework?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework is a government document that all schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers in England must follow. It sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. The standards ensure your child will learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.


What will my child be learning?

The EYFS framework outlines seven areas of learning and development and educational programmes.

There are three prime areas of learning, which are particularly important for your child’s development and future learning:

  • Communication and Language 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

There are four specific areas of learning, through which the prime area are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

At Flyford Pippins we will also use knowledge of your child’s needs and interests to plan challenging and enjoyable activities and experiences.

How will my child be learning?

The EYFS framework identifies the essential role of play in your child’s development. It is through both child-led play and play guided by an adult that your child will develop confidence and relationships with others. Through play, our Pippins team will help your child extend their vocabulary and develop their communication skills.

The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of teaching and learning:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically

A greater focus on teaching specific skills will occur as your child progresses through their reception year, which will help them to prepare for year one.


How will I know how my child is doing?

Each child at Flyford Pippins has a key person who will work in partnership with you, sharing information about your child. We will also share observations and pictures with you via Tapestry (an online portal for Early Years).

All of our staff will use their professional knowledge to understand your child’s level of development. If they have any concerns about your child’s progress, they will discuss these with you.

Three Formal assessments take place during the EYFS:

  • Two-Year Progress Check (between the ages of 2 years and 2 years 9 months)
  • Reception Baseline Assessment (at the start of reception year)
  • Early Years Foundation Stage Assessment (at the end of the EYFS)

When your child completes their reception year, they will be deemed as having a good level of development (GLD) if they meet all of the EYFS learning goals (ELG) in the three prime areas, (Communication and Language, Personal, Social and Emotional Development and Physical Development) and Literacy and Mathematics (2 of the Specific areas). This will be shared with you via their annual school report.


The years from birth to five see the greatest growth and learning for all children. To be successful early learning is the key to your child’s future. At Pippins we look forward to working in partnership with your family to achieve the best possible outcomes for your child.

Website Visitors 2 8 2 4